The Happiness Project

As I’ve been stalking Border’s closings to stock up on discounted books and cashing in enough border rewards points to make even the Extreme Couponing people proud, there’s one book that never really seems to be on sale, or is always sold out: The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin.  A New York Times best seller that seems to have amassed a cult-like following (something I’m a fan of), a review of the book says:

 “A cross between the Dalai Lama’s The Art of Happiness and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love, and seamlessly buttressed by insights from sources as diverse as psychological scientists, novelists, poets, and philosophers, Gretchen Rubin has written a book that readers will revisit again and again as they seek to fulfill their own dreams for happiness.”

— Sonja Lyubomirsky, Ph.D., The How of Happiness: A Scientific Approach to Getting the Life You Want

Anyone else have a tshirt that their parents brought back from a cruise that said Dont Worry Be Happy Mon?

 Talk about building up expectations right?  I would say I’m already a happy *enough* person, I smile and listen to pop music on occassion.  Even if I’m not Molly Sunshine everyday, I’m definitely not Emo.  But I do think we all should try to maximize our own personal happiness as much as (legally) possible.  The author spent a year testing the wisdom of the ages, current scientific studies, and lessons from popular culture about how to be happy, the result is The Happiness Project. 

Well, I’m all about marketing, research, science, and all that so needless to say this book zoomed right up to the top of my read list.  Though I didn’t get a steeply discounted paperback, I did download it to my Kobo so it will make for interesting reading at the airport when I’m on my way to Oakland, CA later this week.  If it’s truly as good as advertised I’m sure I’ll be aligning this with my personal goal setting and letting people know about the results.  If it’s more overrated than Charles Barkley (that’s right, I said it) then I will be sure to let you know that too.

Happiness or Bust!

Leave a comment