DIY Punks Unite

Happy Saturday peeps.  Today I feel like talking about the DIY ethic which has, in part, inspired me as I start making moves in my career and personal life.  DIY, or Do It Yourself, I’ve always associated with This Old House with Bob Villa (another show my mom used to watch).  DIY to me was the idea of home improvement and sewing and other things that sound great, but that I don’t do.  But the “DIY ethic” is tied to the punk movement in the 70s when punk artists wanting to make music free from the creative control of mainstream record labels, began forming their own record companies, and producing their own music and merchandise. 

The idea behind it is not allowing yourself to be confined by societal obstacles and bureaucratic red tape by instead focusing on self-enterprise, and doing what you want to do, however you choose to do it.  While it’s associated with the punk movement, I would argue it just as much pertains to the early days of the hip hop movement as well.  There’s still some of the DIY esthetic present, though much of it has been plundered for profit.

But that’s another post. 

The point is that I totally dig this idea of essentially “making yourself”, the internet is great way to make that happen.  Through my experiences in social media I’ve gotten to see a lot of DIY punks out there doing it for themselves.  So one of my goals is to embrace more of that in my everyday life, and instead of waiting for people to tell me “no”, tell myself “yes” first.

Can someone get me my hammer please?

2 thoughts on “DIY Punks Unite

  1. Yes,I am digging the fact you found black women doing industrial work during world war II. African-americans helping this country through it’s darkest time is a rare look into who the real contributors have been and continue to be over looked. Keep it real young blood!

    • Lol very true and thank you. I love that picture, and even though the term “DIY Punk” is a fairly new one, it’s not a new concept, there are many examples of DIY Punks. . .from the “Rosie Riveters” of WWII to the founding fathers (though clearly they missed some stuff), to the civil rights activists, to everyday people taking control of their own lives, and on and on, history is full of DIY Punks!

Leave a comment